Office of Will County Executive
Lawrence M. Walsh
Sunday, May 31, 2015
For more information, contact:
Tammy; Reiher

Will County honors 48 schools with Earth Flag Awards

Will County honors 48 schools with Earth Flag Awards

JOLIET – Nearly 700 students and staff members from 24 Will County schools attended the Earth Flag Awards ceremony at Rialto Square Theater in Joliet.

Another 24 schools also won the award after working with the Joan O’Keefe, the Environmental Educator with the Resource Recovery and Energy Division of the Will County Land Use Department, but were unable to attend.

     “Kids have better ideas than adults,” O’Keefe told the students. Adults get set in their thinking, she explained, while kids will take steps to try different ways to solve problems.

Regional Superintendent of Schools Shawn Walsh encouraged the students to use what they have learned as part of the Earth Flag program in their daily lives.

     “Continue to practice what you have learned, and share it with your family and friends. We only have this Earth to call our home. Let us all take care of it together.”

Also named were the TREX plastic bag challenge winners. TREX manufactures decking and outdoor furniture from recycled plastic, and sponsors a contest each year to see which schools can collect the most plastic bags.

For the third consecutive year, the winner was St. Mary Nativity of Joliet. Coming in second and third, respectively, were Pioneer Path School of Channahon and Frankfort Square School of Frankfort.

Earth Flag Award winning schools represented at the ceremony on May 13 were:

A. Vito Martinez Middle School, Romeoville; Arlene Welch Elementary School, Naperville; Carl Sandburg Elementary School, Joliet; Center for Disability Services, Melvin J. Larson Educational Center, Joliet; Creekside Elementary School, Plainfield; Eagle Pointe Elementary School, Plainfield; Elwood Elementary School, Elwood; Fairmont Elementary School, Lockport; Forest Park School, Joliet; Frankfort Square School, Frankfort; Freedom Elementary School, Plainfield; Holy Family School, Shorewood; and

Hufford Junior High School, Joliet; John R. Tibbot School, Bolingbrook; Kenneth L. Hermansen School, Romeoville; Pioneer Path School, Channahon; Reed Custer Middle School, Braidwood; Richland Elementary School, Crest Hill; Sator Sanchez Elementary School, Joliet; St. Joseph School, Lockport; St. Mary Nativity School, Joliet; St. Rose School, Wilmington; Taft Elementary School, Joliet; and Thomas Jefferson Elementary School, Joliet.

Schools which also won but were unable to attend were:

Arnold J. Tyler School, New Lenox; Arbury Hills Mokena; Aux Sable Middle School, Joliet; Brooks Middle School, Bolingbrook; Central Elementary School, Plainfield; Chelsea Elementary School, Frankfort; Haines Elementary School, New Lenox; Hilda Walker Intermediate School, Tinley Park; Irene King School, Romeoville; Jonas E. Salk School, Bolingbrook; Kelvin Grove Junior High School, Lockport; Lakewood Falls Elementary School, Romeoville; and

Liberty Elementary School, Bolingbrook, L.J. Schilling School, Homer Glen, Ludwig Elementary School, Lockport; Monee Elementary School, Monee, Peotone Junior High School, Peotone; R.C. Hill Elementary School, Romeoville; William B. Orenic Intermediate School, Plainfield; William E. Young School, Homer Glen; and William J. Butler School, Homer Glen.

Additional information about the Will County Land Use Department and its activities can be found at www.willcountygreen.com. The department is led by Director Curt Paddock and is under County Executive Larry Walsh’s office. 

Press Contacts

Anastasia Tuskey
Communications Director
Ph: 815-740-8376

Tammy Reiher
Public Information Officer
Ph: 815-774-7485

«June 2019»

Will County’s annual book event ‘hits both of our goals’

An estimated 58,000 books changed hands during the Will County reuse-recycling event at Pilcher Park Nature Center May 31-June 2.

Read more

Workforce Center of Will County announces After Hours Job Fair on June 12

The Workforce Center of Will County announces an “After Hours” Job Fair to be held 4:00 p.m. until 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, June 12 at its location 2400 Glenwood Avenue, Suite 100, Joliet, IL. A wide variety of positions with numerous employers will be part of this evening event.
Read more

Will County showcases local projects during Our Homes, Our Voices National Campaign

Will County officials hosted a tour on May 30 for Congressman Bill Foster to showcase housing projects in several communities during the Our Homes, Our Voices National Housing Week of Action, May 30 – June 5. The Week of Action brings attention to the affordable housing crisis, the need for fair housing, and community reinvestments and partnerships.

Read more


100th birthday acting Chief Judge David Carlson Alison.com Alzheimer's walk America Recycles Day American Legion Post 1080 American Recycles Day Animal Control Arsenal Road BBQ luncheon Becky Haldorson book recycling book recycling and reuse event book reuse and recycling Brayden Caraynoff-Haber Bruce Gould Caroline Portlock Charlotte Mather closings Clothes 4 Work cooling centers County Executive Larry Walsh County Office Building Curt Paddock Danette Krieger David Dubois Deirdre Manigo Diane Brozman digital safety Director Curt Paddock document destruction Dr. L.P. Schild Earth Flag Awards Eastside Green House electronic recycling electronics recycling extreme heat Friends of Sunny Hill gardening Gertrude Hoover Green Team groundbreaking Health Department heroin legislation forum hero helps addiction trea Historic Preservation Commission holiday bazaar holiday string lights Household Hazardous Waste Illinois Extension Service Janine Farrell Jason Holicky Jeff Hubrich JJC City Center Campus Joan O'Keefe job fair John Ocansey Joliet Park District Joyce Parker Judge David Carlson Karen Sorbero Kathy Pecora Land Use Department Larry Walsh Lewis University Madison Curran Marta Keane Melissa Hemzacek Memorial Day Midwest Classics on 66 Museum Mike Bell Mobile Workforce Center Monee Township Music and memory neuter/spay Nick Palmer Organix paper shredding Penny Curran permits Pilcher Park Pilcher Park Nature Center Plainfield United Methodist pumpkin composting Pumpkin Pitch Recyclepalooza recycling Resource Recovery and Energy Resource Recovery and Energy Division Resume Gallery rural historic structures Savers Savers. WJOL school garden Scott Slocum Seeds of Change Grant Program Sharefest sign language Spirit of Community Caring Award St. Vincent DePaul Sunny Hill Nursing Home Sunny Hill Nursing Home of Will County Susan Flessner Susan Olenek swimming pools textile collection The Friends of Sunny Hill Inc. Three Rivers Association of Realtors Tim Anderson University of St. Francis USAgain veterans Veterans Day vision and hearing screening vow renewal warming centers Warren-Sharpe Community Center Washington Township Wayne Breitbarth weather related closings West Nile Virus Will County Will County Center for Community Concerns Will County Executive Larry Walsh Will County Farm Bureau Will County Health Department Will County Historic Preservation Commission Will County Land Use Department Will County Office Building Will County TB clinic Will County Veterans Affairs Commission Will County Workforce Center Will County Workforce Services Division William E. Young School WJOL Workforce Center of Will County Workforce Investment Board Workforce Services Division Workforce Services Division of Will County Workforce Services Division releases November work workshops Youth Provider Workshop