X
GO

We WILL Count

County gears up for census count to ensure fair federal funding

The Will County Board has created an ad-hoc census committee which will help ensure that all Will County residents are counted during the federally mandated census which occurs every ten years. The committee will work closely with other community groups and Will County Geographic Information Systems (GIS).


Roam Will County 2020 Census Will County Target Areas


We need to have an accurate count of the number of residents in Will County so that we can receive the appropriate resources for our constituents,” said Will County Board Speaker Denise Winfrey (D-Joliet). “This committee will help facilitate an accurate count by coordinating efforts between local leaders and the County Executive’s GIS department.”

The Illinois General Assembly enacted the Complete Count Commission Act in 2017. One of the tasks of the Complete Count Commission is the creation of local subcommittees. Those subcommittees are charged with developing strategies to encourage participation in the 2020 census through publicity and outreach and are comprised of government officials, educational leaders, faith groups, business groups and more. One critical function of the subcommittee is to ensure that traditionally undercounted groups like immigrants, veterans, and homeless populations are counted.

“We have to provide government services to all of the people who live in Will County,” said County Board Member, Mike Fricilone (R-Homer Glen). “Grant dollars and funding levels are tied to the population so it’s important that we count every person that we can.”


What is the Complete Count Committee

The Complete Count Committees (CCC) program is key to creating awareness in communities all across the country.

  • CCCs utilize local knowledge, influence, and resources to educate communities and promote the census through locally
    based, targeted outreach efforts.
  • CCCs provide a vehicle for coordinating and nurturing cooperative efforts between tribal, state, and local governments; communities; and the Census Bureau.
  • CCCs help the Census Bureau get a complete count in 2020 through partnerships with local governments and community organizations.

Will County Census Complete Count Subcommittees

Name Contact Business E-mail Business Phone
City of Aurora Chuck Nelson cnelson@aurora-il.org  (630) 256-3010
City of Aurora Daniel Barreiro dbarreiro@aurora-il.org  (630) 256-3401
City of Crest Hill Raymond Soliman rsoliman@cityofcresthill.com (815) 741-5104
City of Joliet Martin Shanahan mshanahan@jolietcity.org   (815) 724-4000
City of Lockport Kimberly Phillips kphillips@lockport.org  (815) 838-0549
Cornerstone Services Kim Hudgens khudgens@cornerstoneservices.org (877) 444-0304
Spanish Community Center Verenise Alvarez verenise@spanishcenter.org (815) 727-3683
Trinity Services Thane Dykstra tdykstra@trinityservices.org (815) 485-6197
Troy Township, IL Joseph Baltz jdbravinia@sbcglobal.net (815) 744-7260
Village of Coal City Terry Halliday thalliday@coalcity-il.gov (815) 634-8606
Village of Diamond Terry Kernc mayor@diamond.illinois.gov (815) 671-0617
Village of Frankfort Susan Lynchey slynchey@vofil.com (815) 469-2177
Village of Manhattan Kevin Sing ksing@villageofmanhattan.org (815) 418-2051
Village of Minooka Patrick Brennan pat.brennan@minooka.com (815) 467-6415
Village of Rockdale Frank Sennyes sennyes@rockdaleillinois.org (815) 725-8937
Village of Romeoville Steve Gulden sgulden@romeoville.org (815) 886-7200
Village of Sauk Village Marva Campbell-Pruitt mcampbell-pruitt@saukvillage.org (708) 758-3330
Village of Symerton Eli Geiss villageofsymerton@yahoo.com (815) 342-0029
Village of Tinley Park Laura Godette lgodette@tinleypark.org (708) 444-5000